Incredipede sounded pretty interesting when I first heard about it pre-release.   Make strange monsters!  Freedom to experiment!

I got around to buying it a couple weeks ago, and have played through the first few worlds.  The art is absolutely gorgeous, and it does in fact deliver on the promised freedom and flexibility.  Sadly, it’s a puzzle game.  I hate puzzles, and puzzle games leave me cold.

I should have anticipated this ahead of time.  It’s described as a puzzle game in most PR I see about it.  But somehow, I was blind to all of that.  I just got it in my head that it would be a platformer experience.  I would be able to create some odd monster, figure out how to make it move, and then move around in a big world and do stuff.  Such an idea is not, I suppose, at odds with the concept of a puzzle-game, I guess.

However, Incredipede is 100% puzzle.  The levels give you almost no room to move, and if your limb configuration does not do the job, you’ll know it within 5 seconds.  It makes sense for what it is, I guess, I just happen to hate puzzles, and I somehow never imagined that this would be a puzzle game.

The most fun I ever had with this game was on an early level, figuring how to kick a leg up to a higher platform to knock down a ball.  It was an optional goal, and as usual there wasn’t much available space.  I also did not have the option of modifying my limbs.  However, I stuck with the level for a while, figuring out how to quickly and ably move around and balance in motion.  That process of experiment and mastery was a lot of fun, and I almost felt like I’d started to understand how to move with that monster.  Unfortunately, that was just one level.  The other levels were solved with one or two motions from a properly designed monster.

I am bad with left/right, and given that design and  control in this game are entirely dependent on a proper mechanical understanding of left/right effects, this game was never meant for me.  However, that one brief moment of fun indicated that maybe, just maybe, I could have enjoyed these mechanics – were the levels of the sort that encouraged the player to really learn their creatures, and move with them for a sustained period of time.  Maybe the game opens up a bit in later levels, but I can’t be bothered to plow through the puzzles to get there.

